ESB Jazz Radio

Internet Jazz Radio Station

Rick Braun - Can You Feel It (2014)

Interesting thing about Rick Braun, the better the musicians he surrounds himself with then the better he plays and that speaks volumes for an artist that has owned contemporary instrumental trumpet for over twenty years! Can You Feel It is a funked out smooth jazz meets the old CTI sound with a lineup that includes Jeff Lorber, Dave Koz, Euge Groove, Brian Culbertson and Philippe Saisse. This jazz/funk throw down is the embodiment of the Rick Braun groove which he never really lost while exploring some other sides to his artistic DNA...Welcome back!

While Braun is never short on exceptional material, nine of the eleven tunes are originals and arguably some of his finest work. This is a horn players dream release including Rick Braun pulling out the classic valve trombone as a new lyrical weapon of choice. The duet like approach of Braun and piano wizard Brian Culbertson works right along side the more melancholy "Another Kind of Blue" penned by Philippe Saisse. Make no mistake, this is an up-tempo release with "Radar" blazing a scorching homage to Jeff Lorber. The closer "Dr. Funkenstein" is a flash fried foot to the floor funk that embraces the classic Oakland sound of the legendary Tower of Power.

Tracks: Can You Feel It; Back To Back; Take Me To The River; Mallorca; Get Up And Dance; Another Kind of Blue; Delta; Silk; Radar; The Dream; Dr. Funkenstein.

Personnel: Rick Braun: Trumpet (1-5, 7, 9, 11) Valve Trombone (1-4, 7, 9) Flugelhorn (4,6,8,10) Keyboards (10-11); Brian Culbertson: Piano (2); Phil Davis: Keyboards (2); Brandon Fields: Tenor & Baritone Saxophone (1,7,9) Baritone Saxophone (3,11); Richard Freemont: Flute (4,10); Jon Gilutin: Hammond B3 Organ (1,11); Sergio Gonzalez: Drums (11); Euge Groove: Tenor Saxophone (3,11); Adam Hawley: Guitar (2, 4-5, 8-10); Randy Jacobs; Guitar (1,3,6,11); Nathaniel Kearney Jr.: Bass (1,4,5-10) Additional Bass (3); Dave Koz: Tenor Saxophone (3); Braylon Lacey: Bass (2); Jeff Lorber: Keyboards and Guitar (7,9); Tony Moore: Drums (7); Nate Phillips: Bass (11); Frank "Third" Richardson: Drums (1-6, 8-10); Philippe Saisse: Keyboards (1, 4-6, 8); Freddie Washington: Bass (3); Elliot Yamin: Vocals (3); Ramon Yslas: Percussion (1-11).

Amazon | iTunes


You need to be a member of ESB Jazz Radio to add comments!

Join ESB Jazz Radio

New Jazz Releases

© 2022   Created by ESB.   Powered by

Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service