ESB Jazz Radio

Internet Jazz Radio Station

Artist: Joe Jackson
Title Of Album: The Duke
Year Of Release: 2012-06-22
Label: earMusic


01 Isfahan
02 Caravan
03 I'm Beginning To See The Light , Take The 'a' Train , Cotton Tail
04 Mood Indigo
05 Rockin' In Rhythm
06 I Ain't Got Nothin' But The Blues , Do Nothin' 'til You Hear From Me
07 I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)
08 Perdido , Satin Doll
09 The Mooche , Black And Tan Fantasy
10 It Don't Mean A Thing (If I Aint Got That Swing)

Joe Jackson invites us into his studio and allows us a peak behind the process of creating a modern classic - "The Duke", a tribute to jazz icon Duke Ellington.

The Duke finds the iconoclastic singer/composer/arranger/keyboardist and five-time Grammy nominee Joe Jackson interpreting a series of Ellington classics over the course of ten tracks, interspersing melodic and rhythmic elements of various compositions in a manner that's consistent with Ellington's own freewheeling approach. The resulting album is a seamless fusion of sounds and styles, whose abundant sense of playfulness is consistent with Ellington's boundary-breaking attitude.

The Duke is a decidedly unconventional salute to Ellington, demonstrating the timeless brilliance of his classic compositions while showcasing Joe Jackson's sublime skills as an arranger, instrumentalist and vocal interpreter. Although it's only the second time he's recorded an album not comprised of his own compositions, The Duke is nonetheless a deeply personal project for Jackson, whose longstanding affinity for Ellington's pioneering spirit has served as a key inspiration throughout his own three-decades-plus career.

Joe Jackson explains, "When I started this, it felt a little daunting like, how am I gonna pull this off? But it started to pick up momentum, and took on a life of its own. I got to work with people I never thought I'd be able to get, and they were all extremely enthusiastic and supportive of the project. It all came together in a way that surpassed my expectations. And it's been a hell of a lot of fun."

Recorded and mixed by the legendary Elliot Scheiner (Steely Dan, Sting, Bob Dylan), The Duke features guest performances/duets with Iggy Pop, Sharon Jones, Iranian singer Sussan Deyhim, Lilian Vieira (from the Brazilian/Dutch collective Zuco103), violinist Regina Carter, bassist Christian McBride, Steve Vai, drummer Ahmir Questlove Thompson (The Roots) and Jackson band members Vinnie Zummo (guitar) and Sue Hadjopoulos (percussion).


You need to be a member of ESB Jazz Radio to add comments!

Join ESB Jazz Radio

New Jazz Releases

© 2021   Created by ESB.   Powered by

Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service